Skip to content
  • TENNESSEE AI, infrastructure & the local economy SOURCE-LINKED
  • TRACKER 6 source-backed records EVIDENCE FIRST
  • THE DESK Power · water · permits · workforce
TennessAIResearch Desk

One register. Different scopes.

Every selected infrastructure record in the desk, with campus records kept separate from statewide or multi-site investment programs.

6 tracked records: 4 campuses and 2 programs. A record count is not the statewide facility total. Disclosed investment and power figures are not aggregated across overlapping or incompatible scopes.

Campus records

An individual campus record still may describe planned phases or marketed capacity rather than a fully operating facility.

Tennessee project and program records with disclosed investment, power and confidence.
Project / programOperatorLocalityInvestmentPowerConf.
xAI Colossus — Paul R. Lowry Road
Operating — expansion reported · campus
xAIShelby CountyNot disclosed by operator; Chamber cites largest new-to-market investment in Memphis historyNot disclosed in cited sourceB
xAI Colossus 2 — Tulane Road
Site acquired — power arrangements attributed to xAI · campus
xAIShelby County$80M land purchase reported by DCD~0.5 MW MLGW general service (MLGW); main supply not disclosed by MLGWB
Meta Gallatin Data Center
Serving traffic since November 2024 · campus
MetaSumner CountyMore than $1.5B at full build-out — operatorNot disclosed (530 MW renewable procurement is separate)A
Google Montgomery County data center
Operating data center · campus
GoogleMontgomery CountyNot disclosed in cited sourceNot disclosed in cited sourceA

Campus and multi-site program records are kept distinct. Investment and power figures are not summed across overlapping scopes.

Multi-site investment programs

These announcements cover multiple locations or years. Their amounts cannot be assigned in full to any individual campus.

Tennessee project and program records with disclosed investment, power and confidence.
Project / programOperatorLocalityInvestmentPowerConf.
Kairos Power Hermes 2 — Oak Ridge
Power purchase agreement signed — operations planned 2030 · program
Kairos PowerRoane CountyNot disclosed in cited sourceUp to 50 MW planned — PPAB
ORNL Discovery and Lux AI supercomputers
Announced — Lux 2026, Discovery 2028 · program
Oak Ridge National Laboratory (DOE)Anderson CountyNot disclosed in cited ORNL/DOE sourceNot disclosed in cited sourceA

Campus and multi-site program records are kept distinct. Investment and power figures are not summed across overlapping scopes.