Skip to content
  • TENNESSEE AI, infrastructure & the local economy SOURCE-LINKED
  • TRACKER 6 source-backed records EVIDENCE FIRST
  • THE DESK Power · water · permits · workforce
TennessAIResearch Desk

Every Tennessee AI signal, made legible.

The practical guide to Tennessee’s AI economy. We report on data-center infrastructure, development, the local economy, the state’s AI scene, and the public decisions that connect them. Every verified fact links to a source. Announcements stay labeled as announcements.

Statewide AI coverage5 source-linked ecosystem nodesHow we verify
Infrastructure records
6
Campus and multi-site programs, separately labeled
Ecosystem nodes
5
Companies, research and public institutions
Regional desks
3
Tennessee counties, cities and regional clusters
Topic channels
7
Power, water, permits, incentives and workforce
Primary sources
21
Source review 2026-11-03

A selected, source-backed register, not a census of every Tennessee facility. Multi-site investment programs are not added to individual campus figures. Read the scope and confidence rules.

Ecosystem Watch Wire

Open the briefs archive →

Tennessee AI signals, traced to the original record.

Tennessee AI data-center watch queue.

Explore all records →
Tennessee project and program records with disclosed investment, power and confidence.
Project / programOperatorLocalityInvestmentPowerConf.
Kairos Power Hermes 2 — Oak Ridge
Power purchase agreement signed — operations planned 2030 · program
Kairos PowerRoane CountyNot disclosed in cited sourceUp to 50 MW planned — PPAB
ORNL Discovery and Lux AI supercomputers
Announced — Lux 2026, Discovery 2028 · program
Oak Ridge National Laboratory (DOE)Anderson CountyNot disclosed in cited ORNL/DOE sourceNot disclosed in cited sourceA
xAI Colossus — Paul R. Lowry Road
Operating — expansion reported · campus
xAIShelby CountyNot disclosed by operator; Chamber cites largest new-to-market investment in Memphis historyNot disclosed in cited sourceB
xAI Colossus 2 — Tulane Road
Site acquired — power arrangements attributed to xAI · campus
xAIShelby County$80M land purchase reported by DCD~0.5 MW MLGW general service (MLGW); main supply not disclosed by MLGWB

Campus and multi-site program records are kept distinct. Investment and power figures are not summed across overlapping scopes.

Tennessee, by campus.

Tennessee overview. Markers, where available, indicate approximate locality positions rather than surveyed site boundaries.

Open the full tracker →

Tennessee AI editorial pillars, one statewide desk.

Infrastructure, institutions, workforce and public decisions form one connected research agenda.

Statewide AI

AI & the local economy

The companies, research institutions and workforce shaping Tennessee’s AI economy.

Explore the coverage →
Infrastructure

Development & infrastructure

Campus records, utility capacity, water, local land-use decisions and the source trail.

Explore the coverage →
Research & workforce

People & applied research

University programs, skills pathways and the public institutions connecting AI to practice.

Explore the coverage →
Public decisions

Public policy & accountability

State policy, local review, tax provisions and regulatory records, with uncertainty preserved.

Explore the coverage →

Latest from the desk

Brief archive →

The latest published Tennessee AI daily brief and feature article.

Latest daily feature

Follow the reviewed editions.

The latest published daily feature appears here after source review. Explore the Tennessee orientation briefs in the meantime.

Browse the source brief archive →

The research desk, in your inbox

Follow Tennessee’s AI economy. Keep the source trail.

Register your interest in source-linked Tennessee coverage across infrastructure, research, policy and workforce.

Choose your coverage

By subscribing, you agree to let TennessAI store your email for Tennessee research updates. Your preferences apply to Tennessee research updates. Read our privacy notice and terms, or contact the desk.