Skip to content
  • TENNESSEE AI, infrastructure & the local economy SOURCE-LINKED
  • TRACKER 6 source-backed records EVIDENCE FIRST
  • THE DESK Power · water · permits · workforce
TennessAIResearch Desk
Tennessee diligence packets →

xAI Colossus 2 — Tulane Road

The Greater Memphis Chamber announced in March 2025 that xAI bought a one-million-square-foot property in Southwest Memphis. DatacenterDynamics reported an $80 million purchase of parcels off Tulane Road in Whitehaven.

campusConfidence BDesk review 2026-11-03

Exact reviewed disclosures

Operator
xAI
Locality label
Shelby County
Source-attributed status
Site acquired — power arrangements attributed to xAI
Investment
$80M land purchase reported by DCD
Power
~0.5 MW MLGW general service (MLGW); main supply not disclosed by MLGW
Employment
Not disclosed in cited source

MLGW's July 22, 2025 statement says it supplies about 0.5 MW under a general services agreement at 5420 Tulane Road and is not supplying power to Colossus 2.

DatacenterDynamics reported xAI's Brent Mayo said the site could host up to 350,000 GPUs; treat that as an operator statement.

Questions the public record still needs to answer.

These are diligence prompts. General reference sources below are not verified project-specific approvals, utility agreements or incentive awards.

Land use and jurisdiction

Which parcel, legal jurisdiction and land-use approvals apply to xAI Colossus 2 — Tulane Road?

The reviewed locality label is “Shelby County”. Confirm parcel jurisdiction independently. No locality-matched land-use reference is recorded in this packet; consult the actual governing jurisdiction.

Electric service

What site-specific utility service agreement, interconnection milestone and delivery date are documented?

Reviewed disclosure: ~0.5 MW MLGW general service (MLGW); main supply not disclosed by MLGW. A campus specification is not an energized utility commitment. The general TVA and local power company references do not identify the serving utility, governing rate or service agreement for this particular site.

Employment and timing

Which phase, hiring dates, job types and current employer postings are documented?

Reviewed jobs disclosure: Not disclosed in cited source. An announced target is not a live vacancy count. The operator references do not establish an employer affiliation, hiring commitment or project-specific training agreement for an unrelated training provider.

Reuse qualifications

  • This is a public research packet, not a legal, tax, engineering or investment opinion.
  • A source association is not proof of a final permit, utility commitment, incentive award or completed project.
  • Campus and multi-site program scopes are different. Do not sum overlapping program and campus investment or capacity figures.
  • Publication dates, desk review dates and project milestones have different meanings. An export is not a new source verification.
  • Unknown or undisclosed values remain unknown; locality markers are approximate and do not establish parcel jurisdiction.

Canonical record: https://tennessai.com/data-centers/xai-colossus-2-tulane-road