Skip to content
  • TENNESSEE AI, infrastructure & the local economy SOURCE-LINKED
  • TRACKER 6 source-backed records EVIDENCE FIRST
  • THE DESK Power · water · permits · workforce
TennessAIResearch Desk

Meta Gallatin Data Center

Meta broke ground in Gallatin in August 2020 on a 982,000-square-foot campus and announced on November 14, 2024 that the data center was serving traffic.

campusConfidence ADesk review 2026-11-03

Exact reviewed disclosures

Operator
Meta
Locality label
Sumner County
Source-attributed status
Serving traffic since November 2024
Investment
More than $1.5B at full build-out — operator
Power
Not disclosed (530 MW renewable procurement is separate)
Employment
Over 100 operational jobs — operator, 2024

Meta's 2020 post put the investment at more than $800 million supporting about 100 jobs; its 2024 post says the fully built facility will represent more than $1.5 billion in Tennessee.

Meta says eight Meta-supported projects with TVA add 530 MW of new renewable energy in Tennessee; that is a renewable-supply figure, not the campus load.

Questions the public record still needs to answer.

These are diligence prompts. General reference sources below are not verified project-specific approvals, utility agreements or incentive awards.

Land use and jurisdiction

Which parcel, legal jurisdiction and land-use approvals apply to Meta Gallatin Data Center?

The reviewed locality label is “Sumner County”. Confirm parcel jurisdiction independently. No locality-matched land-use reference is recorded in this packet; consult the actual governing jurisdiction.

Electric service

What site-specific utility service agreement, interconnection milestone and delivery date are documented?

Reviewed disclosure: Not disclosed (530 MW renewable procurement is separate). A campus specification is not an energized utility commitment. The general TVA and local power company references do not identify the serving utility, governing rate or service agreement for this particular site.

Employment and timing

Which phase, hiring dates, job types and current employer postings are documented?

Reviewed jobs disclosure: Over 100 operational jobs — operator, 2024. An announced target is not a live vacancy count. The operator references do not establish an employer affiliation, hiring commitment or project-specific training agreement for an unrelated training provider.

Reuse qualifications

  • This is a public research packet, not a legal, tax, engineering or investment opinion.
  • A source association is not proof of a final permit, utility commitment, incentive award or completed project.
  • Campus and multi-site program scopes are different. Do not sum overlapping program and campus investment or capacity figures.
  • Publication dates, desk review dates and project milestones have different meanings. An export is not a new source verification.
  • Unknown or undisclosed values remain unknown; locality markers are approximate and do not establish parcel jurisdiction.

Canonical record: https://tennessai.com/data-centers/meta-gallatin